Provincial Nominee Program

Most provinces in Canada have an agreement with the Government of Canada that allows them to nominate immigrants who wish to settle in that province. If you choose to immigrate to Canada as a provincial nominee, you must first apply to the province where you wish to settle and complete its provincial nomination process. The province will consider your application based on its immigration needs and your genuine intention to settle there.

Here is a list of the provinces and territories currently participating in this:

  • Alberta
  • Manitoba
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Ontario
  • Saskatchewan
  • British Columbia
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Yukon
  • Northwest Territories program

Provincial nominees are not assessed on the six selection factors of the Federal Skilled Workers Program.

There are several potential advantages to applying as a Provincial Nominee:

  • Provisional Nominee applications are given preference over other skilled visa applicants by Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC).
  • In some cases applying as a provincial nominee as opposed to a federal skilled worker can result in a more expedient application process. This is because provincial nominee programs do not have the same level of skills based assessments needed for other types of Canadian visas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *